The Peso is a monetary unit that originated in Spain and is now it’s in use in several countries in the American continents and the Republic of the Philippines. It takes the shape of the Roman capital letter P. It is subdivided into 100 centavos or Sentimos in Filipino. After the independence of Spanish America, Peso remained the primary currency.

With the adoption of the decimal system (that is, of a weight divided into one hundred cents, cents or hundredths), some countries of America changed their name: Balboa to Panama, BolĂ­var to Venezuela, Bolivian to Bolivia, Colon to Costa Rica, Columbus to El Salvador, Cordoba to Nicaragua, Guarani to Paraguay, Lempira to Honduras, Quetzal to Guatemala, Sucre to Ecuador, Sun to Peru.

Similar Posts