The Spanish language uses Latin alphabets. The pronunciation of the alphabet is phonemic, especially in comparison with the English alphabet, in Spanish you pronounce what is written. Besides the regular alphabet uses, the acute accent letters (á é í ó ú) are used. They indicate the stressed syllable, but they can be used to distinguish homophones. The Spanish royal academy is the institution responsible for governing the linguistic roles, and it also supervises any changes introduced into the language.

In November 2010 the countries of the association approved some changes in the Spanish alphabet including permanently removing the letters (Ch) and (ll) from the alphabet. After this decision, the Spanish alphabet is consisting of 27 letters, the usual 27 English letters plus ñ letter.

Similar Posts